The South African Premier Business Awards is an annual event hosted by the Department of Trade and Industry (the dti) in partnership with Proudly South African and Brand South Africa. The awards recognise business excellence and honours enterprises that promote the spirit of success and innovation as well as job creation, good business ethics and quality. These awards bring together all single sectored awards, among others technology, manufacturing and women in business. 

2018 2019winners





The Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Rob Davies has announced the finalists for the 5th Annual South African Premier Business Awards. Minister Davies made the announcement during the Awards’ media launch in Johannesburg today.

The Awards which will be hosted by the Department of Trade and Industry (the dti), in partnership with Proudly South African and Brand South Africa will take place on the 30th January 2018 in Johannesburg, Gauteng under the theme “rewarding business excellence.”

“The Awards seek to recognise and celebrate entrepreneurs and companies that invest in both human and technical resources in various activities and that are producing quality products and services,” said Davies.

This instalment of the Awards, will according to Minister Davies recognise and honour local enterprises that promote the spirit of success, innovation, job creation, quality and good business ethics in South Africa’s business community; they will also showcase the best that South Africa has to offer in terms of products and services made in South Africa.

Announcement of Judges/ Adjudicators

We have appointed a panel of Judges made up of men and women who are experts in different sectors pertinent to the Awards categories. The judges appointed are as follows:

Name and Surname Designation Organisation
Ms Khanyisile Kweyama Board Chairperson Brand South Africa
Ms Hlengiwe Makhathini Divisional Executive: Venture Capital National Empowerment Fund (NEF)

Ms Helen Ndlovu


Former Policy and Advocacy Manager South African Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SACCI)
Ms Janeez Hafizulla BEE Specialist  
Ms Bridget Nkuna Executive Director Owami Women and Children
Mr Bongani Coka Chief Executive Officer South African Institute of Professional Accountants (SAIPA)
Mr Mothunye Mothiba Chief Executive Officer Productivity SA
Mr Xolani Qubeka Chief Executive Officer Small Business Development Institute (SBDI)
Mr Mojalefa Mohoto Acting DDG: Enterprise Development Department of Small Business Development (DSBD)
Mr. Sylvester Chauke

Brand Specialist/ CEO

2015 Young Entrepreneur Winner

DNA Brand Architects
Mr Abdullah Verachia Director: GIBS Harvard/Executive Development Programme




Mr. Mpho Ledwaba Head of Marketing Johannesburg Stock Exchange
Mr Ndivhuho Raphulu Director National Cleaner Production Centre
Dr Renee Horne Director of International Relations, Senior Lecturer and Lead Academic

Wits Business School


Dr Timothy Hutton Director of Executive Education Wits Business School


Announcement of Finalists

For the 5th SA Premier Business Awards we have 10 categories which are as follows:

  1. Manufacturers Award
  2. Exporters Award
  3. Enterprise Development Support Award
  4. Women-Owned Businesses Award
  5. Young Entrepreneur Award
  6. Investor of the Year Award
  7. Proudly South African Enterprise Award
  8. Play your Part Award
  9. SMME Award

10. Black Industrialists Awards (Apex category)


A call for entries was opened from 1 September and the closing date was Friday, 27 October 2017. Over 179 companies from all 9 provinces have registered and entered the 5th SA Premier Business Awards. The finalists are as follows:

Top 4 Companies Investor    

1           QK Meats SA (Pty) Ltd

2           Defy Appliances

3           Sumitomo Rubbers South Africa

4          Coega Development Corporation

Top 5 Companies Exporter

1      Sumitomo Rubbers South Africa

2      Simplus Innovation

3      QK Meats SA (Pty) Ltd

4      Aerosud Aviation (Pty) Ltd

5      GEW Technologies Pty Ltd

Top 5 Companies Enterprise Development

  1. Sumitomo Rubbers South Africa
  2. National Urban Reconstruction and Housing Agency
  3. Paramixed Pty
  4. Nampak Products Limited
  5. Sasol South Africa

Top 4 Companies Manufacturer

  1. Ndokhulu Hydraulic and Mining Supplier (Pty) Ltd
  2. Exodus
  3. Thekwini Wire & Fastners
  4. Thata Ubeke Manufacturing (Pty) Ltd

Top 4 Companies Black Industrialists

  1. Ndokhulu Hydraulic and Mining Supplier (Pty) Ltd
  2. Thekwini Wire & Fastners
  3. Thata Ubeke Manufacturing
  4. Shandos Construction (Pty) Ltd
  5. Blessing Connect

Top 7 Companies SMME

Seven companies have been put through for second round judging as four companies received tie marks and it was agreed that they be forwarded for pre-screening.

  1. Maid 4 U
  2. Lulaway Holdings
  3. Mzwethembela Trading
  4. Floida Engineering Services
  5. Barui Briehoek Cooperative
  6. Ndoukhulu Hydraulic and Mining Supplier
  7. Khuphulanani Training Institute

     Top 9 Companies Young Entrepreneur

Nine companies have been put through for second round judging as five companies received tie marks and it was agreed that they be forwarded for pre-screening.

  1. Intercessor Army Franchising
  2. Sikuphiwe Trading
  3. Kreevtiv Communications
  4. Gridbow Engineers and Technical Services
  5. Masifunde Training Centre
  6. Isimangaliso Group
  7. Mpilo
  8. Simplus Innovation
  9. TnM Innovations

     Top 6 Companies Women Owned

  1. Floida Engineering Services
  2. Kreetiv Communication
  3. BBD Steel Supplies
  4. Khuphulanani Training Institute
  5. Exodus
  6. Khalala

     Top 3 Companies Proudly South African

  1. Maid 4 U
  2. La Van Skin and Body Excellence System
  3. Ekurhuleni Artisans and Skills Training Centre

     Top 5 Companies Play Your Part

  1. Sihle’s Brew (Pty) Ltd
  2. Ekurhuleni Artisan and Skills Training Centre
  3. Nampak Products Limited
  4. Little Green Number
  5. Clover Mama Afrika Trust

These companies across all categories have moved to the second round and have been adjudicated by the judges we have appointed.

I congratulate all the finalists for this fifth instalment of the Awards.


Sponsors/ Affiliate Partners and Prizes

In pursuit of the promotion and cultivation of the culture of public private partnerships in various national initiatives, I am delighted to announce institutions which came on-board as sponsors for the 5th Annual SA Premier Business Awards and they are as follows:

  • Johannesburg Stock Exchange – our affiliate partner
  • Wits Business School - as an academic partner
  • Tsogo Sun – one of our sponsors


With the help of our sponsors and partners, I am pleased to announce that winners of the Awards will take away the following prizes:

  1. Wits Business School (WBS) – executive development programmes to qualifying employees from selected winners to the total value of R1 million,
  2. Johannesburg Stock Exchange (JSE) - Award winner of Investor of the Year with JSE accredited training for 5 (five) of their executives / staff members
  3. 3)Tsogo Sun – weekend accommodation to select winners anywhere in South Africa



We have appointed Nexia SAB & T, an independent auditing firm for the 5th Annual SA Premier Business Awards. Nexia SAB &T is a renowned and reputable South African company.





Sidwell Medupe - the dti Departmental Spokesperson

Tel: 012 394 1650

Mobile: 079 492 1774

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Issued by the Department of Trade & Industry

Follow us on @the_dti

Go to top